Board Adopts FY 2012 Operating Budget, Approves Staff and Ethics Panel Appointments

June 21, 2011

ROCKVILLE, MD—The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Thursday, June 16, and gave final approval to the Fiscal Year 2012 Operating Budget. The Board also approved 15 administrative appointments and named a new member to the Ethics Panel. The Board recognized Leadership Montgomery Youth Community Leadership award winners, and recipients of the Gates Millennium Scholars Program scholarship, Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators scholarship, George B. Thomas Sr. Learning Academy, Inc. High Achievement scholarship, and Broad Prize scholarship.

Final Adoption of the FY 2012 Operating Budget

The Board of Education adopted the MCPS FY 2012 Operating Budget based on a May appropriation of $2.09 billion by the County Council—about $127 million lower than what is required by state law even though the district expects 3,300 more students next year. The final action is consistent with the tentative action previously taken by the Board on May 23, 2011. Based on changes identified by the Council, the Board-approved budget includes the elimination of funds for salary steps and longevity increases; reducing staff; and reducing contributions to the Retiree Health Benefit Trust Fund, employee benefit costs, and the instructional television special revenue fund. Including the budget approved on June 16, MCPS has eliminated 1,287 positions. See the Budget Resolution

Human Resources Appointments

The Board approved the appointments of the following administrators:

  • Troy E. Boddy, currently principal, Beall Elementary School, as director, Equity Initiatives Unit, Office of Human Resources and Development
  • Jonathan I. Grabel, currently general partner, Baker Capital Corporation, as investment officer, Department of Financial Services
  • Ruth P. Green, currently assistant principal, Newport Mill Middle School, as director, High School Instruction and Achievement, Department of Instructional Leadership Support
  • Charles L. McGee, currently acting director, Division of Technology Support, as director, Division of Technology Support
  • Genevieve L. Floyd, currently coordinator, Career and Postsecondary Partnerships, Department of Instructional Programs, as supervisor, Career and College Partnerships, Department of Instructional Programs
  • Richard C. Shuman, Jr., currently facilities designer, Division of Construction, as director, Division of Construction
  • Vasuki Rethinam, currently acting supervisor, Applied Research Unit, Office of Shared Accountability, as supervisor, Applied Research Unit, Office of Shared Accountability
  • Juan M. Cardenas, director, Multimedia Services, Office of Communications, as administrative assistant, Office of Shared Accountability
  • Veronica J. Matthewson, currently assistant principal, Watkins Mill High School, as administrative assistant, Office of School Performance
  • Sherri A. Gorden, currently assistant principal, Cresthaven Elementary School, as principal, Cresthaven Elementary School
  • Kimberly L. Kimber, currently turn-around principal, Global Partnership Schools, as principal, Burtonsville Elementary School
  • Celeste D. King, currently assistant principal, S. Christa McAuliffe Elementary School, as principal, South Lake Elementary School
  • Judith F. Lewis, currently principal, Wheaton Woods Elementary School, as principal, Burning Tree Elementary School
  • Peter O. Moran, currently principal intern, Glen Haven Elementary School, as principal Glenallan Elementary School
  • Douglas M. Robbins, currently principal intern, Brown Station Elementary School, as principal, Poolesville Elementary School

Recognition of Distinguished Hispanic Scholars

The Board congratulated the 23 recipients of this year’s Distinguished Hispanic Scholars Awards, given by the Hispanic Alliance for Education of MCPS. The organization awarded scholarships totaling $10,000 to these distinguished scholars with the highest grade point averages who are committed to exemplary community involvement.

Leadership Montgomery—Youth Community Leadership Awards

The Board congratulated this year’s four Leadership Montgomery—Youth Community Leadership Award recipients for their outstanding demonstration of leadership in community service. The law firm of Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy and Ecker, P.A., sponsors the award and presented $1,000 to each recipient:

  • Wendy Cai, Richard Montgomery High School
  • Michael Hagan, Jr., Damascus High School
  • Benjamin Lewis, Thomas S. Wootton High School
  • Caroline Pledger, James Hubert Blake High School

The Gates Millennium Scholars Program Scholarship Recipients

The Board congratulated the four MCPS Class of 2011 Millennium Scholars. Each was awarded a four-year college scholarship:

  • Ayesha Monga Kravetz, Quince Orchard High School
  • Jackie Mutai, Wheaton High School
  • Maria Paredes, Gaithersburg High School
  • Phung Tran, Wheaton High School

Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators

The Board congratulated the 25 winners of this year’s Distinguished African American Scholar Awards, presented by the Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators. The awards recognized the academic, leadership, and community service achievements of talented MCPS African American high school seniors.

The George B. Thomas Sr. Learning Academy, Inc. High Achievement Scholarship Recipients

The Board recognized 11 MCPS seniors who were awarded The George B. Thomas Sr. Learning Academy, Inc., High Achievement Scholarship. The scholarship program encourages students to become engaged in their education, strive for academic excellence, and engage in community service through volunteerism.

Recognition of Broad Prize Scholarship Recipients

The Board commended the dedication and commitment to education of the 2010 Broad Prize scholarship winners. MCPS was a 2010 finalist for the Broad Prize for Urban Education, enabling MCPS seniors to become eligible for college scholarships. The Eli and Edythe Broad foundation awarded scholarships totaling $250,000 to 13 MCPS graduating seniors with financial need whose grades have improved substantially over the course of their high school careers.

About the Board of Education
Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher Barclay, president; Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. Alan Xie, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. 

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside. 

<<Back to browse