22 MCPS Seniors Named National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists

September 26, 2012
Twenty-two Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors have been selected as semifinalists in the 2013 National Achievement Scholarship competition. The scholarship program, administered by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, recognizes academically promising African American students across the nation and awards college scholarships to hundreds of these students each year.

More than 160,000 students requested consideration for the National Achievement Scholarship Program and 1,600 were named as semifinalists. Semifinalists are chosen based on their performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year. Approximately 80 percent of the semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level and more than half of the finalists will be awarded with scholarships next spring.

Last year, 28 MCPS students from seven schools were named as semifinalists and 13 received scholarships. This year, the semifinalists represent nine high schools throughout MCPS.

Overall, MCPS students account for nearly 30 percent of the private and public school semifinalists in Maryland.

The MCPS semifinalists are:

Bethesda Chevy-Chase High School
·  Angela S. White

Montgomery Blair High School
· Henok A. Addis
· Marcus S. Benyamin
· Rachel A. Darko
· Maya A. Davis
· Benjamin W. Eyring
· Simon T. Kapiamba
· Jordyn N. Schroeder
· Langston I. Taylor
· Mireille M. Verdonk

Winston Churchill High School
· Amira O. Collison
· Jonathan A. Mulugeta

Damascus High School
· Efrem T. Gebrekidan

John F. Kennedy High School
· Sydney M. Harper

Richard Montgomery High School
· Andie S. Berry
· Brittany L. Dickerson
· Kiera F. Givens
· Channing N. Kimble-Brown
· Caroline M. Tyson

Northweswt High School
· Adjua K. Jones

Quince Orchard High School
·  Bentley M. Threat

Sherwood High School
· Alexander M. Porter

National Press Release

<<Back to browse