Board of Education Adopts Draft Core Values; Approves EpiPen Policy

October 23, 2012
The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Monday, October 22, 2012, at the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville. Among other items, the Board adopted draft core values; approved the creation of an in-house general counsel position for Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS); gave final approval to a new EpiPen policy and adopted its legislative platform for the 2013 Legislative session. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Draft Core Values

The Board approved a set of draft core values as part of its ongoing work of revising the MCPS Strategic Plan—Our Call to Action: Pursuit of Excellence. Over the summer and into the fall, the Board has come to a consensus on a set of draft core values and has received feedback from the MCPS employee associations. The Board will now continue to get feedback on the draft core values from the community. On November 14, at 7 p.m., the Board of Education will host a “Community Conversation” about the core values at Richard Montgomery High School. For more information on the Community Conversation and to register to attend, visit the Board of Education website. View the Board of Education report and draft core values.

In-house General Counsel

The Board of Education directed Superintendent of Schools Joshua P. Starr to include the position of in-house general counsel in this Fiscal Year 2014 budget. The Board’s Fiscal Management Committee conducted a review of the state of MCPS legal services and conducted a review of how legal services are handled in other school districts. MCPS has not had an in-house general counsel since the mid-1990s, instead using outside attorneys on contract. The committee determined that an in-house general counsel will be more efficient and cost-effective for MCPS. Read the Board item

Policy JPD, Emergency Care for Students Experiencing Anaphylaxis

The Board of Education approved Policy JPD, Emergency Care for Students Experiencing Anaphylaxis, in response to Maryland Senate Bill 621.  Senate Bill 621 requires local boards of education to develop policies regarding the use of epinephrine auto-injectors. Policy JPD authorizes the school nurse and other school personnel to administer auto-injectable epinephrine to a student who is determined to be or perceived to be in anaphylaxis. Policy JPD also requires the superintendent of schools to establish procedures regarding training to recognize the symptoms of anaphylaxis, procedures for emergency administration of auto-injectable epinephrine, and proper follow-up emergency procedures. The Board had tentatively approved the policy on September 24, 2012, and posted it for public comment.  Eighteen comments were received on the policy.  Read the Board item

2013 Legislative Platform

The Board of Education approved a legislative platform for the 2013 Maryland legislative session. The platform represents the Board’s stance on overall legislative issues and specific legislative initiatives related to funding and accountability; local Board authority; and student programs. The Board will continue to discuss legislative issues leading up to and during the 2013 session, which begins in January. Read the Board’s draft legislative platform


The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointment:

Traci L. Anderson, chief, Management and Technology Services Division, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, as assistant to the chief engagement and partnership officer, Office of Community Engagement and Partnerships

Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award

The Board approved a resolution honoring Ms. Carole Working, principal of Quince Orchard High School, as the winner of the Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award, given annually to an outstanding leader in MCPS.

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Shirley Brandman, president; Mr. Christopher Barclay, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. John Mannes, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse