Twenty-Four MCPS Students Win National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

May 8, 2013
Twenty-four Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students from six different high schools have been awarded National Merit $2,500 Scholarships financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.
The students are among 56 high school seniors in Maryland to be selected in the second group of winners in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholars were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 students, and will receive a one-time award of $2,500 for post-secondary education.
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) was established in 1955 to honor scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education. The scholarships are privately funded by NMSC, and are underwritten by more than 400 corporate and college sponsors. Recipients are judged to have the strongest record of accomplishments and greatest potential for success in college.
Last month, six MCPS seniors from four high schools were announced as recipients of corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, which are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.
The MCPS $2,500 scholarship recipients, their schools, and intended field of study are:

Montgomery Blair High School
William Cai, undecided
Tatyana A. Gubin, Surgical Medicine
Jason C. Hyun, Chemical Engineering
Emily M. Lathrop, Electrical Engineering
Audrey Shi, undecided
Jinhie L. Skarda, Electrical Engineering
Myles N. Wagner, Natural Science

Winston Churchill High School
Jessica C. Lee, Communications
Colin J. Kincaid, Computer Programming

Richard Montgomery High School
Matthew M. Benjamin, Environmental Science
Sun Min Hong, Medicine
Sofia H. Hu, Biomedicine
Emily K. Jiang, Marketing
Jonathan P. Marx, undecided
Marni L. Morse, Law
Joseph Wu, Mechanical Engineering
Megan C. Yan, Law
Kathleen Yu, Medicine
David Zhang, Electrical Engineering

Poolesville High School
Anyuan Chu, Computer Science
Joy S. Zeng, Biochemical Engineering

Walt Whitman High School
Pia Kochar, Mathematics
Jacob M. Rosenblum, Business Management

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Michelle A. He, Business

<<Back to browse