Board of Education Discusses Three-Year Technology Plan

May 31, 2013
The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Thursday, May 30, 2013, at the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville. Among other items, the Board discussed MCPS’ 2014-2016 strategic technology plan, approved medical and prescription plans for MCPS employees, and made several administrative appointments. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website. You can also watch video of the meeting by clicking here.

Strategic Technology Plan
The Board of Education received an update and held a discussion on the Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) 2014-2016 Strategic Technology Plan.  As technology continues to change teaching and learning, MCPS wants to ensure that all students are able to participate in technology-enriched learning communities that inspire intellectual curiosity and prepare them with the knowledge and skills to succeed in the 21st century. The plan outlines multiyear strategies and actions to transform learning environments. The plan also highlights various ways in which the district will integrate technology to support professional learning for staff and increase the effectiveness of its services. Five key outcomes are expected as a result of the implementation of the 2014-2016 Strategic Technology Plan:

1.  The creation of completely wireless school campuses;
2.  The completion of the  of the full-featured
myMCPS virtual learning community to include staff, students, parents, partners and online courses;
3.  The integration of self-service portals and automated paper processes;
4.  Beginning to transition to digital text; and
5.  The establishment of partnerships to ensure all families have access to the MCPS digital community.

Read the Board Memo

Medical and Prescription Plans for Employees

The Board approved a three-year contract—effective January 1, 2014—for medical plans that serve Montgomery County Public Schools employees. The Board awarded the contracts to CIGNA, Care First Blue Cross Blue Shield, and Kaiser Permanente. The contracts will allow the district to save $8.1 million over three years. See the Board item

The Board also awarded a three-year prescription drug plan contract for MCPS employees to CVS CareMark, effective January 1, 2014. The contract will save $5.9 million in the first year of award and $20 million in savings over three years. See the Board item

Administrative Appointments

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Debra A. Berner, currently principal, William Tyler Page Elementary School, as executive director, Office of the Chief Operating Officer

Rhonda C. Dillard, currently Pre-K–12 content specialist, Career and Postsecondary Partnerships, as coordinator, Biosciences, Medicine, and Public Safety, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs

Michelle L. Goldstein, currently special education elementary program specialist, as coordinator, Montgomery County Infants and Toddlers Program, Office of Special Education and Student Services

Nancy L. Hiltbrand, currently special education elementary program specialist, as coordinator, Montgomery County Infants and Toddlers Program, Office of Special Education and Student Services

Helen A. Nixon, currently coordinator, Special Initiatives, Office of Professional Development and School Support, as assistant to the associate superintendent, Office of Human Resources and Development

Beth J. Poss, currently elementary integrated curriculum specialist, as coordinator, Montgomery County Infants and Toddlers Program, Office of Special Education and Student Services

Luis A. San Sebastian, currently acting principal, Broad Acres Elementary School, as coordinator, Department of Recruitment and Staffing, Office of Human Resources and Development

Peter J. Geiling, currently director of operations and construction, JPG Plumbing Services, Inc., as team leader, Real Estate Management, Department of Facilities Management, Office of the Chief Operating Officer

Peter Park, currently safety and health project manager, Nelson Engineering Company, as team leader, Systemwide Safety Programs, Department of Facilities Management, Office of the Chief Operating Officer

Billie-Jean Bensen, currently principal, Herbert Hoover Middle School, as principal, Rockville High School

Alicia M. Deeny, currently assistant principal, Montgomery Blair High School, as principal, Takoma Park Middle School

Craig W. Staton, currently assistant principal, Julius West Middle School, as principal, Julius West Middle School

Traci L. Townsend, currently assistant principal, Earle B. Wood Middle School, as principal Earle B. Wood Middle School

Eric A. Wilson, currently principal, Arcola Elementary School, as principal, Sligo Middle School

Evan J. Pinkowitz, currently principal intern, Strathmore Elementary School, as principal, Belmont Elementary School

2013 Counselor of the Year Awards
The Board of Education recognized the recipients of the 2013 Montgomery County Public Schools Counselor of the Year Award. The Counselor of the Year Award highlights the important contributions of school counselors and the essential role they play in the social, emotional and educational development of students. One counselor from each school level is selected for the award. The 2013 awardees are:

-  Mrs. Melissa S. Keller, counselor, Albert Einstein High School
-  Mr. James M. Paterson, resource counselor, Argyle Middle School
-  Ms. Victoria A. Leahy Jones, counselor, North Chevy Chase Elementary School

Read the Resolution

Other Resolutions: The Board unanimously approved the following:

A resolution recognizing the recipients of the 2013 Champions for Children Awards

- A resolution recognizing MCPS’ higher education partnerships

-A resolution recognizing the Asian American Education Association Scholarship Recipients

About the Board of Education

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher Barclay, president; Mr. Philip Kauffman, vice president. Members: Ms. Shirley Brandman, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. John Mannes, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse