Board of Education Makes Administrative Appointments at its July 1 Meeting; Swears in New Student Member of the Board

July 2, 2013
The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Monday, July 1, 2013, at the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville for the purpose of making several administrative appointments. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website. You can also watch video of the meeting by clicking here.

Administrative Appointments

The Board unanimously approved the following administrative appointments:

Kevin E. Lowndes, currently principal, Wheaton High School, as director, School Support and Improvement for High Schools, Office of School Support and Improvement

Michelle E. Lipson, currently Pre-K–12 content specialist, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs, as supervisor, Student Online Learning, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs

Katherine B. Rudd, currently resource teacher, Special Education, Quince Orchard High School, as supervisor, Department of Special Education Services, Office of Special Education and Student Services

Christopher B. Nardi, currently assistant principal, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, as principal, Thomas W. Pyle Middle School

Yolanda Stanislaus, currently principal, Galway Elementary School, as principal, Francis Scott Key Middle School

Shahid A. Muhammad, currently principal Aiton Elementary School, District of Columbia Public Schools, as principal, Brookhaven Elementary School

Following the meeting, the Board of Education held a swearing-in ceremony for the 36th Student Member of the Board of Education (SMOB), Mr. Justin C. Kim. Mr. Kim, a rising senior at Poolesville High School, succeeds Mr. John Mannes, III, a Northwest High School graduate who has served as SMOB for the past year.  

The SMOB is a voting member of the Board of Education, and can cast votes on all items, with the exception of boundary changes, the capital and operating budgets, collective bargaining, negative personnel matters, and school closings.

Read more about the SMOB

About the Board of Education

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher Barclay, president; Mr. Philip Kauffman, vice president. Members: Ms. Shirley Brandman, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Justin C. Kim, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse