Board of Education Discusses Operating Budget Interests; Adopts New Committee Structure

July 17, 2013
The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Tuesday, July 16, 2013, at the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville. Among other items, the Board discussed its operating budget interests for Fiscal Year 2015; adopted a new committee structure and process for handling of information requests; and celebrated receiving the National Green Ribbon Schools Award. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website. You can also watch video of the meeting by clicking here.

Operating Budget Interests for Fiscal Year 2015
The Board of Education began a discussion with Superintendent Joshua P. Starr about its operating budget interests for Fiscal Year (FY) 2015. This is the third year that the Board has shared its budgetary interests with Dr. Starr as he begins the process of developing an operating budget recommendation for next fiscal year. The Board will continue this discussion at a future Board meeting. Dr. Starr will present his FY 2015 Operating Budget recommendation to the Board in December.

Processing of Information Requests and Board Committee Structure
The Board discussed and adopted two improvements to its work protocols that were recommended by an ad hoc work group of the Board.

The Board adopted a new way of handling inquiries that are raised at the Board table, in the presence of Board members, in conversation with the community, or during meetings that Board members attend. The Board will hold a summer retreat to develop an annual work plan. A revised committee structure was also adopted that will allow the Board to focus on its core areas of work. The Board will now have four standing committees—Fiscal Management, Policy Management, Strategic Planning and Committee on Special Populations.  The Committee on Special Populations will meet as necessary on tasks it is assigned by the full Board. 

Read the Board item on the new protocols and structures

National Green Ribbon Schools Awards
The Board received a brief presentation on the National Green Ribbon Schools Awards from the Department of Facilities Management. Cedar Grove and Summit Hall elementary schools were selected as recipients of the 2013 Green Ribbon Schools Award. The Green Ribbon Schools award program, established in 2011, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education (USDE) and recognizes schools that save energy, reduce costs, feature environmentally sustainable learning spaces, protect health, foster wellness, and offer environmental education to boost academic achievement and community engagement.  Cedar Grove and Summit Hall were the only schools in Maryland to receive the award, and are among a total of 64 winning schools from across the nation. Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) also was selected as the recipient of the inaugural District Sustainability Award, which recognizes school systems that demonstrate a comprehensive approach to sustainability. MCPS has become a leader in several areas of sustainability and has a comprehensive district wide program to reduce its impact on the environment, including recycling initiatives, energy conservation efforts and a commitment to green construction practices in all building projects.

Appointment to Board Committee
The Board passed a resolution appointing Justin C. Kim, student member of the Board, as a member of the Board of Education’s Policy Management Committee. He will serve on the Committee until the expiration of his term of office on June 30, 2014.

Read the Board item

Administrative Appointments

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Meredith A. Casper, currently principal, Pine Crest Elementary School, as director, Division of Accelerated and Enriched Instruction, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs

Stephen M. Dolney, currently instructional technology specialist, Office of the Chief Technology Officer, as assistant to the Chief Technology Officer, Office of the Chief Technology Officer

Latrice D. Rogers, currently content specialist, Pre-K–12 English/Language Arts, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, as coordinator, Special Initiatives, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs

Resolution: The Board unanimously approved the following:

A resolution in recognition of the Montgomery County Public Schools Educational Foundation, Inc. Scholarship Awards

About the Board of Education

The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher Barclay, president; Mr. Philip Kauffman, vice president. Members: Ms. Shirley Brandman, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Justin Kim, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse