Seventeen Students Receive Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

April 23, 2014
Seventeen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors from eight high schools have been awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships. These scholarships, which range from $500 to $10,000, are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.  

The students are among 35 high school seniors in Maryland and around 1,000 seniors nationwide to be selected as part of the 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholars were selected from a pool of 8,000 students who were finalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.
Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who reside in the communities they serve, or who plan to pursue college majors and careers the sponsor wishes to support.
The MCPS winners, their intended field of study, and sponsors are:

Walt Whitman High School
Emily A. Rosenthal, Leidos, Inc., undecided
Zeya L. Luo, Northrop Grumman, chemical engineering

Montgomery Blair High School
Callie Deng, Leidos, Inc., biochemistry
Gabriella R. Studt, Northrop Grumman, mathematics
Benjamin L. Sklar, Boeing, engineering

Poolesville High School
Haley S. Talbot-Wendlandt, Lockheed Martin, geology

Quince Orchard High School
Jennifer J. Walker, Mary E. Beyerle Estate, business

Richard Montgomery High School
Christina L. Xu, GEICO, entrepreneurship
Sarah L. Wu, Leidos, Inc., business

Winston Churchill High School
Allen Guo, Leidos,Inc., computer science
Amy Lin, Lockheed Martin, mathematics
Jeanine M. Liu, Northrop Grumman, economics
Kevin A. Schechter, GEICO, computer science

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Christopher G. Long, Boeing, computer science
Xiaoyu Cai, General Dynamics, ophthalmology
Lanson T. Tang, Leidos, Inc., biomedicine

Walter Johnson High School
Nathan I. Fredman, GEICO, physics

<<Back to browse