ADVISORY: MCPS to Name Teacher of the Year at Champions for Children Event Tuesday

April 28, 2014
Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) will hold its annual Champions for Children celebration on Tuesday, April 29, during which it will honor several employees and school system partners, and name the MCPS Teacher of the Year. The Teacher of the Year will be chosen from among three finalists who are winners of the Veteran Teacher Award from the Marian Greenblatt Education Fund. The finalists are:

- Kathryn Hageman, grade 5 teacher, Diamond Elementary School
- Jane Lindsay, grade 8 teacher, John Poole Middle School
- Aaron Shin, grade 8 teacher, Parkland Middle School

Marian Greenblatt was a former teacher and Board of Education member. The MCPS Teacher of the Year will advance to compete with teachers from other counties for the title of Maryland Teacher of the Year.

The annual Champions for Children Awards Celebration honors the exceptional work of educators and community partners who make a difference in the lives of children every day. The event is hosted by the Montgomery County Business Roundtable for Education (MCBRE) and is made possible through generous donations from corporate sponsors, including Kaiser Permanente, Lockheed Martin, HESS, KPMG LLP, Adventist HealthCare, and the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce.

WHAT: Champions for Children Awards Celebration, including the announcement of the 2014-2015 MCPS Teacher of the Year

WHEN: Tuesday, April 29, from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.

WHERE: BlackRock Center for the Arts, 12901 Town Commons Drive in Germantown

WHO: Among those scheduled to speak at the event are:
- Board of Education President Phil Kauffman
- Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett
- MCPS Superintendent Joshua P. Starr
- Student Member of the Board of Education Justin Kim

In addition to the Teacher of the Year finalists, those being honored on Tuesday night include:

- Deborah Yun, grade 1 teacher, Westover Elementary School, Greenblatt Rising Star Teacher of the Year
- Christine Handy-Collins, principal, Gaithersburg High School, Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision
- Deborah Prochnow, college/career information coordinator, Watkins Mill High School, Supporting Services Employee of the Year
- Washington Gas, Business Champion for Children
- Chris McDermott, Chair of the Montgomery County Reflections program, Volunteer Champion for Children
- Robert W. Dodd, principal, Argyle Middle School,
The Washington Post Distinguished Educational Leader Award
- Mary Hawkins-Jones, grade 5 teacher, Westover Elementary School,
The Washington Post Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award

<<Back to browse