Twenty-Five MCPS Students Win National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

May 7, 2014
Twenty-five Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students from nine different high schools have been awarded National Merit $2,500 Scholarships financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. 
The students are among 53 high school seniors in Maryland to be selected in the latest group of National Merit Scholarship Program recipients. The scholars were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 students, and will receive a one-time award of $2,500 for post-secondary education.
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) was established in 1955 to honor scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education. The scholarships are privately funded by NMSC, and are underwritten by more than 400 corporate and college sponsors. Recipients are judged to have the strongest record of accomplishments and greatest potential for success in college.
On April 23, seventeen MCPS seniors from four high schools were announced as recipients of
corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, which are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. On April 9, seven MCPS were selected as recipients of National Achievement Scholarships, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement of African American high school seniors across the United States. Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.

The 2014 MCPS $2,500 scholarship recipients and intended field of study are: 

Montgomery Blair High School
Adela M. Armstrong-Spielberg, Mathematics
Adrianne R. Kehne, undecided
Jared D. Lichtman, Academia
Hueyjong Shih, Biomedical Engineering
Clare E. Singer, Physics

Winston Churchill High School
Bryan B. Ho, Biochemistry
Hope H. Kean, Neurosurgery
Daniel D. Liu, Molecular Biology
Isaac S. Weinberg, Psychology
Katie Y. Zhao, Public Health

Walter Johnson High School
Nicholas J. Lokker, Economics
Michael J. Spak, Economics
Elizabeth M. Winter, Journalism

Richard Montgomery High School
Julia Di, Electrical Engineering
Savannah Du, Applied Mathematics
Isabella Huang, undecided
Aaron M. Hwang, Screenwriting Directing
Emily Z. Ma, Medicine

Northwest High School
David A. Snyder, Engineering

Poolesville High School
Courtney M. Steininger, Public Policy

Sherwood High School
Singiti P. Weerasuriya, Medicine

Walt Whitman High School
Henry T. Doran, undecided
Moses L. Hetfield, Education
Jessica C. Levy, Law

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Steven L. Berger, Medicine

<<Back to browse