MCPS Students Earn College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

May 28, 2014
Seven Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have earned college- and university-sponsored National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. 

Each sponsoring college or university selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

Earlier this year, it was announced that 49 MCPS students had been awarded National Merit Scholarships—17 earned corporate-sponsored scholarships, 25 earned National Merit $2,500 Scholarships and seven earned National Achievement Scholarships.

The seven college-sponsored scholarship recipients bring the MCPS total of National Merit Scholarship winners to 56, with one more round of winners to be named in July.

The winners, their intended career fields and the sponsoring university or college are:

Montgomery Blair High School
Alexander R. Epstein, Washington University in St. Louis, engineering
Rebecca E. Naimon, University of Chicago, undecided

Winston Churchill High School
Rachel S. Casper, University of Rochester, political science

Richard Montgomery High School
Justin Ku, University of Southern California, medicine
Helen Tan, Scripps College, psychology

Walt Whitman High School
Benjamin B. Talisman, Washington University in St. Louis, undecided
Carson E. Lystad, Vanderbilt University, undecided

<<Back to browse