17 MCPS Seniors Named National Achievement Scholarship Semifinalists

September 24, 2014
Seventeen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors have been selected as semifinalists in the 2015 National Achievement Scholarship competition. The scholarship program, administered by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, recognizes academically promising African American students across the nation and awards college scholarships to hundreds of students each year.

More than 160,000 students requested consideration for the National Achievement Scholarship Program and 1,600 were named as semifinalists. Semifinalists are chosen based on their performance on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year. Approximately 80 percent of the semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level and more than half of the finalists will be awarded with scholarships next spring.

The MCPS semifinalists attend 10 different high schools and account for a quarter of the 2015 semifinalists from the state of Maryland.

The MCPS semifinalists and their schools are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Zachary W. Briscoe
Sisanmofe Dorsu

Montgomery Blair High School
Meriel F. Capriogolio-Chase
Landon O. Harris
Braeden T. Rose

James Hubert Blake High School
Cameron W. Payton

Northwest High School
Tahiru O. Jallow

Northwood High School
Rhassan T. Bovell

Rockville High School
Collin C. Nelson

Richard Montgomery High School
Moraa B. Marwanga
Melonee R. Quintanilla
Blessed Sheriff
Oluwatomisin A. Sontan
Dahlia E. Wilson

Seneca Valley High School
Amleset Girmay

Springbrook High School
Damali O. Rollins

Walter Johnson High School
Jamila M. Coleman

<<Back to browse