MCPS Students Earn College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

May 27, 2015

Fourteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have earned college- and university-sponsored National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.  

Each sponsoring college or university selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

The 14 college-sponsored scholarship recipients bring the MCPS total of National Merit Scholarship winners to 49, with one more round of winners to be named in July. Earlier this year, it was announced that 35 MCPS students had been awarded National Merit Scholarships—seven earned corporate-sponsored scholarships, 21 earned National Merit $2,500 Scholarships and seven earned National Achievement Scholarships.

The winners, their intended career fields and the sponsoring university or college are:

Montgomery Blair High School

Brianna M. Kitts, University of Maryland, materials engineering

Richard Montgomery High School

Jeffrey Feng, University of Maryland, computer science

Hannah Horng, University of Maryland, bioengineering

Jessica S. Kang, University of Maryland, biology

Benjamin N. Koppel, Carleton College, economics

David T. Nguyen, University of Maryland, mechanical engineering

Walter Johnson High School

Alexander L. Bai, University of Chicago, mathematics

Naomi N. Gancz, University of Chicago, psychology

Walt Whitman High School

Max E. Goldberg, University of Chicago, physics

Thomas S. Wootton High School

Jeremy J. Chung, University of Maryland, computer science

Jason A. Hall, University of Richmond, law

Katherine I. Kim, University of Maryland, physical therapy

Alexander G. Mazze, University of Maryland, medicine

Eric Wang, University of Maryland, dentistry

<<Back to browse