Sligo Middle School Nominated for 2016 Green Ribbon Award

March 18, 2016

Rockville, MD – Sligo Middle School has been nominated by the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) for the National Green Ribbon Schools Award. The Silver Spring school was one of two schools nominated by MSDE.

The Green Ribbon Schools Award program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and recognizes schools that save energy, reduce costs, feature environmentally sustainable learning spaces, protect health, foster wellness, and offer environmental education to boost academic achievement and community engagement.

“This nomination is an acknowledgement of the tireless efforts that our students, staff and parents have put in to ensuring Sligo is a school that is making an impact on the future of our community,” stated Sligo Middle School Principal Cary Dimmick.

Through the School Energy and Recycling Team (SERT), students at Sligo implement energy conservation practices and lead recycling efforts throughout the school. Additionally, through its environmental literacy curriculum, the school is connecting students to the Sligo Creek watershed and has created an outdoor classroom with gardens in its courtyard so that students can learn outside year-long.

The other 2016 Green Ribbon School nominee is Broadneck High School (Anne Arundel County Public Schools). 

Five Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have received the national Green Ribbon Schools Award since its inception in 2012: Northwest High School in 2015, Travilah Elementary School in 2014, Cedar Grove and Summit Hall elementary schools in 2013, and Francis Scott Key Middle School in 2012. MCPS also was selected as the recipient of the District Sustainability Award in 2013, which recognizes school systems that demonstrate a comprehensive approach to sustainability.

MCPS has a comprehensive districtwide program to reduce the environmental footprint of its facilities, including recycling initiatives, energy conservation efforts and a commitment to green construction practices.

The Green Ribbon School winners will be announced by U.S. Education Secretary John King on Earth Day, April 22, 2016. 

<<Back to browse