Media Advisory: MCPS to Name Teacher of the Year at Champions for Children Event Tonight (May 3)

May 2, 2016

Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) teachers, staff, community members and businesses will be honored at the annual Champions for Children celebration tonight, Tuesday, May 3. The 2016-2017 MCPS Teacher of the Year will also be announced during the event, which will be held at Wheaton High School. The finalists are: 

-Andrea Segovia, a third grade teacher and team leader at Ashburton Elementary School
-Kimberly Skufca, a technology education teacher at Shady Grove Middle School
-Michael Williams, a resource teacher for the social studies department at John F. Kennedy High School

The Champions for Children Awards Celebration honors the exceptional work of educators and community partners who make a difference in the lives of children every day. The event is hosted by MCPS in partnership with the Montgomery County Business Roundtable for Education (MCBRE).

WHAT: Champions for Children Awards Celebration, including the announcement of the 2016-2017 MCPS Teacher of the Year

WHEN: Tuesday, May 3, from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. (awards program begins at 6:30 p.m.)

WHERE: 12401 Dalewood Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20906

WHO: Among those scheduled to speak at the event are:

-Michael Durso, president, Montgomery County Board of Education
-Nancy Floreen, president, Montgomery County Council
-Larry Bowers, interim superintendent, Montgomery County Public Schools
-Eric Guerci, Student Member of the Board of Education

-Dr. Debra Mugge, principal, Wheaton High School
-Eun Yang, NBC4 news anchor, Master of Ceremonies
-Performances by MCPS students

In addition to the Teacher of the Year finalists, those being honored at the Champions for Children event include:

-Samir Paul, computer science teacher, Montgomery Blair High School, MCPS Rising Star Teacher of the Year
-Kaila Wiggins, first grade teacher, Clopper Mill Elementary School, MCPS Rising Star Teacher of the Year
-E. Frank Kaplan, principal, Strawberry Knoll Elementary School, Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision
-Craig Stewart, security assistant, Winston Churchill High School, Supporting Services Employee of the Year
-Cigna, Business Champion for Children
-Melissa McKenna, recording secretary of the Delegates’ Assembly and CIP committee chair for the MCCPTA, Volunteer Champion for Children



<<Back to browse