Seventeen Additional National Merit Scholarships are Awarded to Local Twelfth Grade Students

May 3, 2001
Seventeen Montgomery County Public Schools students have won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships after meeting rigorous academic standards and other criteria.

The local scholars are among 51 winners from Maryland and 2,500 winners nationally who were selected from about 15,000 finalists in the 2001 program, sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

MCPS winners and intended career fields are:

Montgomery Blair High School: Shobitha Bhat, technology/management; Ravi Kacker, biomedical engineering; Sei-Gyung Kim, biochemistry; Michael S. Lee, genetics; Daniel J. Martin, undecided; William A. Pastor, chemistry (scholarship sponsored by Rohm and Haas Co.); Brinda A. Thomas, electrical engineering

Walter Johnson High School: David K. Peckarsky, mechanical engineering

Richard Montgomery High School: Julia A. Galef, diplomacy; Kirill Lokshin, computer science; Justin D. Ward, history; Elizabeth A. Whitman, law/civil service; Damaris D. Yeh, biomedical engineering

Walt Whitman High School: Simon E. Chin, law; Flora M. Lindsay-Herrera, international relations; Amy D. Wickner, biology

Thomas S. Wootton High School: Jessica J. He, law.

The scholars are all high school seniors who were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors who evaluated each finalist's academic record, standardized test scores, contributions to school and community, interests and goals, and recommendations from school officials.

The latest announcement brings the number of this year's Merit scholars from MCPS to 24, which includes seven winners of corporate-sponsored awards. On May 31 and in late July, the NMSC will announce the winners of Merit Scholarships sponsored by colleges and universities.

<<Back to browse