MCPS Class of 2016 Earns 56 National Merit Scholarship Awards

July 19, 2016

Eight Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have received National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards sponsored by universities and colleges.

Each sponsoring college or university selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

This is the final round of National Merit Scholarship recipients for the Class of 2016. In all, MCPS had 56 National Merit scholarship recipients.

In total, the Class of 2016 has earned more than $343 million in college scholarships, among the most received by any graduating class in MCPS.

The latest National Merit Scholarship winners, their intended career fields, and the sponsoring university or college are:

Montgomery Blair High School
Sidney B. Geertsema, geology, University of Maryland
Rowyn A. Peel, activism, Oberlin College  

Richard Montgomery High School
Christopher S. Lee, engineering, University of Maryland
Kimberly M. Steininger, applied mathematics, Boston University
Jeffrey En-Hsiang Chang, business, Baylor University

Poolesville High School
Christopher W. Look, bioengineering, University of Maryland

Quince Orchard High School
Tanay V. Wakhare, mathematics, University of Maryland

Walter Johnson High School
Lynda X. Hu, biomedical engineering, Emory University

<<Back to browse