MCPS to Name Teacher of the Year at Champions for Children Event TONIGHT, April 26

April 25, 2017

Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) teachers, staff, community members and businesses will be honored at the annual Champions for Children celebration TONIGHT, Wednesday, April 26. The 2017-2018 MCPS Teacher of the Year will also be announced during the event, which will be held at BlackRock Center for the Arts. The finalists are: 

-Melissa Segal, a fourth grade teacher and team leader at Luxmanor Elementary School
-Cherin Hershkowitz, a math content specialist at Roberto Clemente Middle School
-Nancy Shay, an English Resource Teacher at Richard Montgomery High School

The Champions for Children Awards Celebration honors the exceptional work of educators and community partners who make a difference in the lives of children every day. The event is hosted by MCPS in partnership with the Montgomery County Business Roundtable for Education (MCBRE).

WHAT: Champions for Children Awards Celebration, including the announcement of the 2017-2018 MCPS Teacher of the Year

WHEN: Wednesday, April 26, from 6 to 9 p.m. (awards program begins at 7 p.m.)

WHERE: BlackRock Center for the Arts, 12901 Town Commons Drive, Germantown, MD 20874

WHO: Among those scheduled to speak at the event are:

-Michael Durso, president, Montgomery County Board of Education
-Roger Berliner, president, Montgomery County Council

-Isiah Leggett, Montgomery County Executive
-Jack Smith, superintendent, Montgomery County Public Schools
-Eric Guerci, Student Member of the Board of Education
-Eun Yang, NBC4 news anchor, Master of Ceremonies
-Performances by MCPS students

In addition to the Teacher of the Year finalists, those being honored at the Champions for Children event include:

-Yecenia Morales, Spanish teacher, Wheaton High School, MCPS Rising Star Teacher of the Year
-Amra Nansimbi, fourth grade teacher, Glenallan Elementary School, MCPS Rising Star Teacher of the Year
-Audra Fladung, director of elementary schools, Office of School Support and Improvement, Dr. Edward Shirley Award for Excellence in Educational Administration and Supervision
-Cristina Carbonell, paraeducator, Ronald McNair Elementary School, Supporting Services Employee of the Year
-Fitzgerald Auto Malls, Business Champion for Children
-JoAnn Burl, Springbrook cluster coordinator for the MCCPTA, Volunteer Champion for Children



<<Back to browse