Eight Additional National Merit Scholarship Winners Bring 2000-2001 Total to 47

July 18, 2001
Eight more MCPS graduates have won National Merit Scholarships, raising the total number for the 2000-2001 school year to 47.

The additional eight awards were given by universities to students who will attend those institutions. The winners were chosen by officials of more than 200 private and public colleges and universities from among Merit Program finalists who will attend those institutions. Fifteen other college-sponsored scholarships were given in May.

The new scholarship winners, sponsoring institutions, and intended career fields are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School: Edward F. Greenberg, Brandeis University, molecular biology

Montgomery Blair High School: Ezra S. Fishman, Tufts University, mechanical engineering; Brandon D. Heller, Washington University, mechanical engineering/computer science; Aaron S. Iddings, University of Maryland, computer science; Brandon Proia, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; writing

Winston Churchill High School: Carley R. Schaffer, Washington University, biomedical engineering

Walter Johnson High School: Ceala E. Breen-Portnoy, University of Maryland, international relations

Richard Montgomery High School: Jean L. Niswonger, University of Maryland, engineering

Students attained finalist status based on criteria such as exceptional performance on standardized tests and in the classroom, strong recommendations from school officials and a statement of goals and interests. The finalists were selected from about 16,000 semifinalists announced last fall. MCPS had 122 semifinalists in the program.

<<Back to browse