Board of Education Approves Elimination of Native American Symbols as School Mascots, Endorses End of Criterion-Referenced Tests

August 28, 2001
The Board of Education today [Tuesday, August 28] took action regarding the elimination of the Native American symbols as mascots, endorsed the discontinuation of criterion-referenced tests, revised Minority Business Enterprise procedures, and appointed new administrators.

Native American Symbols

The Board approved a resolution requiring the discontinuation of the “Indian” mascot and nickname at Poolesville High School and authorized financial assistance for the school to complete the transition to a new mascot within the next 12 months. The Board took this action based on its interpretation of the existing Human Relations policy and directed that all other policies and regulations be clarified to assure the prohibition of racial, gender, and cultural stereotypes in official school-sponsored representations, such as mascots, nicknames, and logos.

Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRTs)

The Board endorsed the administrative decision to discontinue the school system’s Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRTs) beginning this year because of the changing alignment of the curriculum and the implementation of new state tests that make portions of the CRTs redundant.

Revised Minority Business Enterprise Procedures

The Board voted to modify and revise procedures for Minority Business Enterprise participation in state-funded construction projects to reflect changes to state statutes approved by the Maryland General Assembly.

Administrative Appointments

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

* Nelson McLeod, Jr., currently assistant principal of Takoma Park Middle School, as principal of Albert Einstein Middle School #2 (scheduled to open next year in the former Newport school facility).

* Debra A. Berner, currently elementary principal intern, College Gardens Elementary School, as supervisor, Special Education, Department of Special Education.

* Dr. Wesley L. Boykin, currently director, Evaluation and Research Services, Institute for Student Achievement, as director of the Division of Academic Accountability.

* Robert J. Doody, currently acting controller, as controller, Division of Controller, Office of the Chief Operating Officer.

* Agustin D. Martinez, currently English teacher, Quince Orchard High School, as a human resources specialist in the Office of Human Resources.

* Dr. Michael P. Perich, currently supervisor, Continuous Improvement, Carroll County Public Schools, as coordinator, Systemwide Continuous Improvement, Office of the Chief Operating Officer.

* Ricardo Salandy-Defour, currently acting director, Division of Applications Development, Office of Global Access Technology, as director.

* Joan L. Stoer, currently art teacher, Strawberry Knoll Elementary School, as coordinator of Elementary Art, Theatre, and Dance, Division of Arts, Health, and Physical Education.

* Lori-Christina Webb, currently coordinator, Division of Equity Assurance and Compliance, as coordinator, Policies and Procedures, Office of Shared Accountability.

Update on School Construction

The Board received an update on ongoing school construction projects, including several modernizations, additions, and the opening of a new elementary school.

Update on Summer Institutes

The Board received an update on the continuing effort to build professional learning communities, including the Principal/Leadership Institute held this summer for principals and other administrators and the Teachers Institute for School Improvement for staff at 53 priority elementary, middle, and high schools.

<<Back to browse