Nineteen MCPS Students Win National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

May 19, 2017

Ninteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students from six different high schools have been awarded National Merit $2,500 Scholarships financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. 
The students are among 52 high school seniors in Maryland to be selected in the latest group of National Merit Scholarship Program recipients. The scholars were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 students, and will receive a one-time award of $2,500 for post-secondary education. 
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) was established in 1955 to honor scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education. The scholarships are privately funded by NMSC, and are underwritten by more than 400 corporate and college sponsors. Recipients are judged to have the strongest record of accomplishments and greatest potential for success in college. 
On April 19, 14 MCPS seniors from seven high schools were announced as recipients of corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships, which are financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.
The 2017 MCPS $2,500 scholarship recipients are: 

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School

Katherine Zehner

Montgomery Blair High School
Sambuddha Chattopadhyay

Ethan Chen

Eleanor Cook

Raymond Guo

Juliana Lu-Yang

Alex Miao

Richard Montgomery High School
Delia Chen

Daisy Grant

Peter Maldonado

Nataliya Stepanova

Grace Sun

Sunil Tohan

Walter Johnson High School

Michael Gancz

Walt Whitman High School
Sean Hwang

Ella Segal

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Chaitali Chitnis

Clarice Hu

Ethan Liu



<<Back to browse