11 MCPS Students Earn College-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

June 9, 2017

Eleven Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have earned college- and university-sponsored National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Each sponsoring college or university selected scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

The winners, their intended career fields and the sponsoring university or college are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Natalie R. Tomeh, actuarial science, University of Texas at Dallas                   

Montgomery Blair High School
Griffin S. Badalamente, neuroscience, University of Chicago          

Anna R. Barth, applied mathematics, Harvey Mudd College                         

Daniel S. Busis, computer programming, Carleton College                      

Noah H. Friedlander, undecided, University of Chicago              

Neal M. Sarkar, mechanical engineering, Vanderbilt University                        

Poolesville High School
Zubin A. Kane, computer engineering, Purdue University                       

Richard Montgomery High School
Erica Lin, mathematics, University of Chicago                                

Jonathan Y. Mendley, medicine, University of Chicago              

Thomas S. Wootton High School
Roma Venkateswaran, theater, University of Texas at Dallas

Wheaton High School
Blake J. Kaufman, computer science, Michigan State University 

<<Back to browse