Fourteen Additional Merit Scholars Bring Total to 57

August 27, 2002
Fourteen additional Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) graduates have won National Merit Scholarships, raising the number for the 2001-02 school year to 57. The MCPS total represents 38 percent of the 149 Merit Scholarships awarded in Maryland for the year.

The additional awards were given by universities to students who will attend those institutions. The students, sponsoring institutions, and students' intended majors are:

§ Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School: Pavle M. Doroslovacki, University of Maryland, medicine.

§ Montgomery Blair High School: Radhika Char, University of Maryland, chemical engineering; Steven M. Chemtob, Washington University in St. Louis, geology; Cyrus A. Hadadi, University of Maryland, cardiology; Nancy H. Ku, Rice University, undecided.

§ Winston Churchill High School: Shuyan Huang, New York University, medicine.

§ Walter Johnson High School: Edward A. Botsford, Rice University, music; Rebecca A. Kahane, University of Maryland, English/economics.

§ Richard Montgomery High School: Andrew J. Galen, Washington University in St. Louis, undecided; Carolyn W. Willer, Wake Forest University, law.

§ Rockville High School: Gabriel A. Robbins, Washington University in St. Louis, undecided.

§ Watkins Mill High School: Heungkook Yang, Johns Hopkins University, physics/astronomy/chemistry.

§ Walt Whitman High School: Kristen J. Skrabut, New York University, anthropology; Mihai A. Sturdza, University of Chicago, politics/government service.

For the 2001-02 school year, a total of 21 students won $2,500 awards funded by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, six won corporate-sponsored scholarships, and 30 received college-sponsored Merit scholarships.

In the 2000-01 school year, 47 MCPS students won National Merit Scholarships.

<<Back to browse