Fifteen MCPS Seniors Win Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

April 17, 2019

Fifteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have been awarded 2019 corporate-sponsored scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. The students are part of a group of more than 1,000 National Merit finalists chosen to receive scholarships financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

Winners of the corporate-sponsored scholarships, with their probable career fields are:

Montgomery Blair High School

  • Allison Rose Borton (Computer Science)
  • Soumith R. Gadila (Neurology)
  • Reethi S. Padmanabhan (Biomedical Engineering)

Richard Montgomery High School

  • Kevin Z. Liu (Undecided)
  • Ananya Tadikonda (Medicine)
  • Emily L. Tian (Law)
  • Grant Yang (Biology)
  • Alice S. Zhu (Computer Science)

Poolesville High School

  • April R. Xu (Psychology)

Sherwood High School

  • Seth E. Setse (Computer Science)

Wheaton High School

  • Meili A. Bowden (Mechanical Engineering)

Quince Orchard High School

  • Gudrun L. Thorkelsdottir (Computer Science)

Thomas S. Wootton High School

  • Andrew W. Jiang (Psychiatry)
  • Deepa S. Kori (Business Management)
  • Xiwei Peng (Biomedical Engineering)

Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice.

Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.


<<Back to browse