Board of Education Adopts the Fiscal Year 2020 Operating Budget; Receives an Update on Safety and Security; and Receives the Second Part of the Resource Equity Presentation

June 12, 2019

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) met on Tuesday, June 11, 2019, at Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville.  During the meeting, the Board adopted the Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 Operating Budget for Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS); received an update on safety and security; and received the second part of a two-part presentation on equity resources.

The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Final Adoption of the Fiscal Year 2020 Operating Budget

The superintendent and staff members presented to the Board the final FY 2020 Operating Budget for final adoption. 

After the presentation and brief discussion, the Board unanimously approved the FY 2020 Operating Budget based on an appropriation of $2,680,574,773 that includes an appropriation of $74,961,990 for enterprise funds, $1,799,775 for special revenue fund, and $89,498,471 for restricted grants, approved by the County Council on May 23, 2019. The Board also approved the 2019 Special Education Staffing Plan as included in the FY 2020 Recommended Operating Budget.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Update on Safety and Security

Staff members provided an update to Board members about the safety and security.  In spring 2017, MCPS launched a comprehensive review of school system safety and security. This included a review of MCPS protocols, practices, and infrastructure related to the critical imperative of maintaining safe, orderly learning environments for all students. This initial effort encompassed a review of all high schools, and in summer 2017, MCPS released the Interim Report: School Safety & Security Focusing on High Schools (Interim Report).

In the next six months, middle and elementary schools were reviewed as well, resulting in the publication of the Final Report on School Safety and Security (Final Report), which included recommendations in seven key priority areas: data-driven accountability for school safety and positive school culture as a system priority across MCPS; effective allocation, utilization, and management of school security personnel and other staff; technology infrastructure, including security cameras, and their use; facility enhancements to restrict or limit access to more isolated areas of school buildings and grounds; procedures and practices for supporting positive student behavior throughout the school day; systemwide prevention and early intervention programs; and collaboration with law enforcement and other partner agencies. These recommendations and priority areas comprised the MCPS Safety and Security Strategic Plan (Strategic Plan) developed as a result of the Final Report.

The seven key priority areas identified in the Final Report, coupled with the requirements under the Maryland Safe to Learn Act of 2018, will guide the work of MCPS going forward.

Read the memorandum to the Board.

Presentation on Resource Equity:  Resource Study (Part II) and Class Size Committee Update

At the April 29, 2019, Board of Education meeting, the first part of the resource study was presented, which focused on how much of its resources (time, people and money) MCPS is directing toward its instructional program.  During the June 11, 2019, Board meeting, staff members presented the second part of the update on the resource study, which included how well MCPS is using its resources, specifically the dimensions of equity referred to as teacher quality and time/attention. Teacher quality in the resource study is examined using years of teacher experience, the role of the teacher leader, patterns of teacher assignment to schools and students, and practices for teacher collaboration and support.

Educational Resource Strategies (ERS) representatives, MCPS’ partners for the resource study, presented to the Board insights and findings related to these two topics, with a focus on access to effective teachers and access to instructional time/attention as they relate to our student focus groups as compared to our monitor.  The second part of the June 11, 2019, presentation focused specifically on a status update on class size examination in MCPS.  On January 8, 2019, the Board approved a resolution authorizing the superintendent of schools to convene a work group to conduct the class size examination.  The scope of the work and findings of the work group were presented and discussed with Board members on June 11, 2019.

Read the memorandum to the Board.


The Board approved the resolution recognizing Montgomery County Alliance of Black School Educators Scholarship recipients

The Board approved the resolution recognizing Distinguished Hispanic Scholars.

The Board approved the resolution recognizing George B. Thomas, Sr. Learning Academy, Inc. High Achievement Scholarship recipients.

The Board approved the resolution recognizing Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. Scholarship recipients.

The Board approved the resolution recognizing Montgomery County Public Schools Higher Education Partnerships.

The Board approved the resolution declaring June 2019 as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month.

Future Meetings

The Board of Education will hold its next regular business meeting on Monday, June 24, 2019.  Please check the Board of Education website and meeting calendar for further information. 

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, president; Mrs. Patricia O’Neill, vice president. Members: Ms. Jeanette E. Dixon, Dr. Judith Docca, Ms. Karla Silvestre, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, Ms. Brenda Wolff, and Ms. Ananya Tadikonda, student member. Dr. Jack R. Smith, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.



<<Back to browse